If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Wisconsin, you should inform yourself about the possible penalties and consequences you might face. Even though this is your first offense, the penalties for operating a vehicle while intoxicated are very harsh. If this is your second, third or subsequent offense, you are in need of quality Wisconsin OWI defense. Although the law varies from county to county, you should be aware that you are in great trouble. If you want to avoid losing your driving license, paying hefty fines and even spending time in jail, you must hire a qualified attorney to come to your aid. Only by having a skilled OWI lawyer by your side, you properly handle your charges.
Penalties for First and Second OWI Offense
If this is the first time you’re facing Milwaukee drunk driving arrests, you may have to pay a fine ranging from $150 to $300. You will also have to pay courts fees. In most cases, you shouldn’t worry about going to jail. However, if you had a passenger who is less than 16 years old with you, you may have to serve up to six months in jail. If you injure someone, no matter if he was a passenger or a pedestrian, you will probably have to face jail time. Your driving license will be suspended from six to nine months. You will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle if your BAC level exceeded .15. Lastly, you will get 6 demerit points on your license, and before revoking your driving license, you will have to go through an alcohol assessment.
If this is your second offense, the penalties you are about to face will be much harsher. You will have to pay fines that can go up to $1,100, plus court fees. You can spend from five days to six months in jail. You can get your driving license back after 18 months and after that, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your automobile. You will also get 6 demerit points on your license and before getting it back, you will have to go through an alcohol assessment.
Penalties for Third, Fourth or More than Four OWI Offenses
As you continue drinking and driving and getting caught for it, the penalties will get harsher and harsher. The starting fine is $2,000, but it can be doubled or tripled depending on your BAC level. You will have to serve a jail term of 45 days to a year, and you will lose your driving license for two to three years. Everything else remains the same. If you are charged with a fourth OWI, you will be charged with a felony. In this case, fines can go up to $10,000, and they can also be doubled or tripled depending on your BAC level. You can serve jail time up to six years. The initial confinement is 60 days minimum. Your license will be suspended for up to three years. On your 5th or 6th OWI, apart from paying $10,000 in fines, you may have to serve jail time from six months to ten years, with the first five years actually spent in prison. As you may conclude, with subsequent offenses all your penalties will become stricter.